NY.gov Portal State Agency Listing

Phone Line: (518) 485-TIPS(8477)

Moreland Commission
Appointed by
Governor Andrew M. Cuomo

Executive Director
Regina Calcaterra
Chief Counsel
Kelly Donovan
Legislative Director
John Amodeo
Chief of Investigations
Danya Perry

Contact: Michelle Duffy, (212) 417-5965

Moreland Commission Holds Public Corruption Hearing in Capital Region

Public Policy & Advocacy Groups Testify Before Commission

Albany - The Moreland Commission to Investigate Public Corruption today held its second public hearing aimed at rooting out public corruption. The hearing, held at the Empire State Plaza in Albany, focused on topics specific to campaign finance, outside income of state elected officials and political party housekeeping accounts.

In an effort to involve the public and experts in the field of rooting out public corruption, the commission heard testimony from various public policy experts and advocacy organizations including, Common Cause New York, New York Public Interest Research Group, Citizen Action of New York and Citizen Union.

Members of the public were also on hand to testify at the hearings and more public hearings will be held at future dates as the commission prepares to issue a preliminary report by December 1, 2013.

The speakers provided suggestions on how to probe and combat a systemic corruption problem.

On July 2, 2013, Governor Andrew M. Cuomo established the Commission under the Moreland Act (Section 6 of the New York State Executive Law) (“Moreland Commission”) and Executive Law Section 63(8) to probe systemic public corruption and the appearance of such corruption in state government, political campaigns and elections in New York State.

Executive Order 106 which created the Commission can be found at http://www.governor.ny.gov/sl2/ExecutiveOrderindex


# # #

Special Counsel: Robert Morgenthau; Special Advisors: Joseph D’Amico, Raymond Kelly, Barbara Bartoletti;
Commissioners: Patrick Barrett, Richard Briffault, Daniel Castleman, Derek Champagne, Eric Corngold, Kathleen Hogan, Nancy Hoppock, Seymour James, David Javdan, Robert Johnson, David R. Jones, Lance Liebman, Joanne Mahoney, Gerald Mollen, Makau Mutua, Benito Romano, Frank Sedita III, P. David Soares, Kristy Sprague, Betty Weinberg Ellerin, Peter Zimroth, Thomas P. Zugibe