NY.gov Portal State Agency Listing

Phone Line: (518) 485-TIPS(8477)

Moreland Commission
Appointed by
Governor Andrew M. Cuomo

Executive Director
Regina Calcaterra
Chief Counsel
Kelly Donovan
Legislative Director
John Amodeo
Chief of Investigations
Danya Perry

Contact: Michelle Duffy, (212) 417-5965

Moreland Commission Announces New York City Hearing Tomorrow, September 17th

September 16, 2013

Contact:  Michelle Duffy, (212) 417-5965

The Moreland Commission to Investigate Public Corruption will hold a hearing tomorrow, September 17, 2013 at Pace University, NYC.

This first hearing will focus on federal and state criminal laws and the adequacy of existing state laws, rules and regulations involving misconduct by public officials.

The Commission has invited law-enforcement officials to discuss several public corruption cases prosecuted in their jurisdictions. They will also speak to the inadequacy of existing anti-corruptions laws.

The speakers are:

            Preet Bharara, United States Attorney, Southern District of New York
            Loretta Lynch, United States Attorney, Eastern District of New York
            Cyrus R.Vance, Jr., Manhattan District Attorney
            Daniel R. Alonso, Chief Assistant Manhattan District Attorney
            Lawrence Norden, Deputy Director, Brennan Center’s Democracy Program
            Ian Vandewalker, Counsel, Brennan Center’s Democracy Program   


WHAT:    New York State Moreland Commission to Investigate Public Corruption
WHEN:    6 p.m., Tuesday, September 17, 2013 (Doors open at 5 p.m.)
WHERE:  Pace University, NY Campus - Multipurpose Room, 1 Pace Plaza, NYC


WEBCAST: The event will be webcast at: mms://realserv.pace.edu/liveny The address needs to be opened using Windows Media Player.

NOTE: All members of the media wishing to attend the hearings are asked to RSVP via email at: michelle.duffy@moreland.ny.gov

**Due to the limitation of time and volume of speakers, this event is at capacity.

# # #

Special Counsel: Robert Morgenthau; Special Advisors: Joseph D’Amico, Raymond Kelly, Barbara Bartoletti;
Commissioners: Patrick Barrett, Richard Briffault, Daniel Castleman, Derek Champagne, Eric Corngold, Kathleen Hogan, Nancy Hoppock, Seymour James, David Javdan, Robert Johnson, David R. Jones, Lance Liebman, Joanne Mahoney, Gerald Mollen, Makau Mutua, Benito Romano, Frank Sedita III, P. David Soares, Kristy Sprague, Betty Weinberg Ellerin, Peter Zimroth, Thomas P. Zugibe